BBO Discussion Forums: Played card gathered-up in wrong hand - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Played card gathered-up in wrong hand

#1 User is offline   keithhus 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2016-February-14, 15:07

Just for my edification, could you tell me please what the correct procedure is when a card is discovered in the wrong hand - I.e. 12 in one and 14 in another. At my club, if it cannot easily be, corrected the board is averaged and hence forward. Re-dealing would complicate the scoring but that is the only other alternative I can see. Further, I was taught to count the cards prior to bidding but I think it might be better to count the cards after the hand is played and before returning to the board as this would identify the problem. Finally, is there any sanction on the pair(s) where the error ocurred? Please note I am a beginner and this question is only for my information. Thank you

#2 User is offline   pran 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2016-February-14, 16:02

View Postkeithhus, on 2016-February-14, 15:07, said:

Just for my edification, could you tell me please what the correct procedure is when a card is discovered in the wrong hand - I.e. 12 in one and 14 in another. At my club, if it cannot easily be, corrected the board is averaged and hence forward. Re-dealing would complicate the scoring but that is the only other alternative I can see. Further, I was taught to count the cards prior to bidding but I think it might be better to count the cards after the hand is played and before returning to the board as this would identify the problem. Finally, is there any sanction on the pair(s) where the error ocurred? Please note I am a beginner and this question is only for my information. Thank you

Law 7B2 said:

Each player counts his cards face down to be sure he has exactly thirteen [...].

Law 7C said: