BBO Discussion Forums: BBO web-client version 1.47Q comments thread - BBO Discussion Forums

• 3 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

BBO web-client version 1.47Q comments thread Please post feedback here

#21 User is offline   1eyedjack 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2013-February-16, 12:04

barmar, on 2013-February-14, 06:37, said:

I've never seen any web site that does that. How many people switch between IDs? If you have multiple users in the home, they should be using different logins on the PC, and each one will have their own saved BBO information (this will be true for all the web sites they use).

HMRC's agent login page does just that. As a tax agent I have more than one agent id. Several, in fact, as a result of office mergers. In that case it is not I think any design aspect on the part of the web page designers but a feature of windows o/s and/or web browser software. Anyway, on a single terminal I only have to log in once under each id and then next time I just have to click the focus in the id field and it pops up all ids used in the past (provided that I accepted the security prompt to memorise it when used first time). I would expect this feature to be present at any site visited by a windows machine. Ok in this case we are not in windows but I think that the precedent is established.

As to how many users have more than 1 id, we can only speculate. I would expect every starred player to have an alternate. I would expect any player who occasionally wants to post hands in this forum without it being easily traceable back to him through myhands to have one, even though there is no hiding from bridge browser. Several of my acquaintances I know for a fact have more than one, for additional reasons that I do not always know but can guess.