Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How the brain works The confidence competency ratio

#1 User is offline   pilowsky 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2020-July-28, 03:24

I am going to begin this thread with a few ideas. The central theme is that pretty much everything is the same: including thinking.

Can we model thinking and social interaction in the same way that we model flow or electricity? What might the implications be for game theory?
I am not a systems engineer, so I thought I would throw this idea out here and see what you guys make of it.

This kind of idea is, I believe, the reason why games such as Chess, Bridge, Go and so on are so popular with Doctors, Physicists, Engineers and so on. It is because the laws that govern them are all exactly the same.

I call this the 'equation of life'. I am not the first to do so.
This equation will be familiar to all of you, but it goes by many different names.

I'll use Poiseuille's law.

I have used this equation to educate students about the nervous system, but it works for electricity (Ohm's law) and lots of other things. Wherever there is flow and resistance, this law applies.
It works with education as well.

Poiseuille's law looks like this http://www.calculatoredge.com/new/poiseuille.htm
Volume per second= (pi* pressure difference * radius 4)/(8 * viscosity * length)
Of course, there has to be a pump to create the pressure difference and push the volume through the tube.

It's the same with thinking.

A person can become competent at just about anything, but only to the extent that their cupboard can be filled to a certain extent, not leak, associate k's (k= 1 element of knowledge - see below), use them appropriately and quickly enough. A person may be distracted, by television, alcohol, anything.

With people there is more to it. There is social interaction to factor in.