BBO Discussion Forums: How to response to 1H opening when I have 12 dummy points and 3+ support - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How to response to 1H opening when I have 12 dummy points and 3+ support

#1 User is offline   caibirdcnb 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2018-July-13, 02:45

I am new in bridge world. I am studying bidding system, the SAYC, and I have a question:

In the link below from ACBL, it says:
1H-2H: 6-10 dummy points, 3+ support
1H-3H: 10-11 dummy points, 3+ support
1H-2NT: 13+ dummy points

So, what should I bid if I have 12 dummy points? Thanks.

ACBL SAYC link

#2 User is offline   Stephen Tu 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2018-July-13, 05:24

2nt, the Jacoby 2nt raise, should be reserved for hands with 4 cd support. Usually balanced; with an unbalanced hand there are other options depending if you play conventions like splinter raises which aren't a part of sayc, but which tend to be tacked on to it as you and your partners get more advanced.

With 12 points, this is basically on the border between a game invite and a game force, and most of the time it won't matter since partner will accept most invitations. With some you should go high, treat it as 13, force to game, while others you go low and just invite. Hands with a lot of queens and jacks outside of trumps should go low vs hands with aces and kings; q/j are a bit overrated by the 4321 point system. 4+ trumps should be more aggressive than 3 trumps with similar high cards and side shape. Hands with a good 5cd side suit should be aggressive. 4333 hands should be conservative. Some of this should already be accounted for in counting dummy points which should add points for positive shape features.