BBO Discussion Forums: Hand Hogging - BBO Discussion Forums

• 4 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Hand Hogging ACBL

#21 User is offline   ArtK78 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Bridge, Poker, participatory and spectator sports.
    Occupation - Tax Attorney in Atlantic City, NJ.

Posted 2013-July-24, 12:33

When I started playing, Blue Ribbon Pairs qualifications expired after 3 years. It was assumed that the Fall Nationals (the Blue Ribbon Pairs is played at the Fall Nationals) would be located in a part of the country relatively close to the entire membership at least once in a three year period, so anyone earning a Blue Ribbon qualification would have an opportunity to play in the event without having to travel to the other side of the continent. Sometime in the 1990s (perhaps earlier) the rule was changed so that once you earned a Blue Ribbon qualification it never expired until you used it.

Furthermore, under the old rules, when you played in the Blue Ribbon Pairs, ALL qualifications that you earned prior to the event were considered to be used. So you had to earn a new qualification to play in any future Blue Ribbon Pairs.

I am sure that the purpose of the proposed rule is to reduce the size of the entry and increase the quality of the competition. Whether the change in the rule will have the desired effect is far from clear.

#22 User is offline   mycroft 

• Secretary Bird
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2013-July-24, 16:57

Lovely. Because the Platinum Pairs - that was pushed to be "the game the BRP used to be, based on players with current top-level results" is in place (but of course it got watered down before implementation, so now we need a super-Platinum pairs) - and now we need to punish more People Who Work, who maybe can get to a Nationals once a decade and want to play it (or the Weak or Mini BRPs, for that matter). I do hope this isn't actually the case.